search site
email newsletter
new compositions

Coming Home
(euphonium/percussion quintet)
An Extraordinary Correspondence
Gate City Shapshot
(concert band)
The Dreamers of Dreams
(percussion ensemble)
Sensus Vitae
(symphonic band)
(euphonium & marimba/vibraphone)
Spitfire II
(euphonium & percussion octet)
Star of Wonder
(holiday percussion ensemble) 


January 25, 2014
Guest Artist at the Indiana Music Educators Conference (Ft. Wayne, IN)

March 18, 2014
Faculty Percussion Recital at HPU (High Point, NC)

April 5, 2014
Guest Artist at South Carolina Day of Percussion (Columbia, SC)

April 12, 2014
Guest Artist at South Dakota Day of Percussion (Columbia, SC)


composition pages

composition / solos / selections from 13 morceaux

13 morceaux (selections) by jean sibelius

Medium: Solo Marimba
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Composed: 2001
Duration: 8:00
Difficulty: Grade IV

5-octave marimba

look inside



Finnish composer Jean Sibelius (1865-1957) has become widely known for his impressive large-scale orchestral works such as Kullervo (1892) and Finlandia (1899). For this reason, his solo piano works have been neglected and, in some cases, have been dismissed as insignificant. However, one cannot overlook the one hundred piano pieces composed by Sibelius throughout his lifetime.

13 Morceaux, composed between 1911 and 1919, is a set of pieces that contain much variation in tempo and character. The three selections I have chosen demonstrate this diversity – from the relaxed, yet melancholy, “Etude” to the was of sound created by the accented arpeggios of “Carillon” to the bright and sprightly character of “Humoresque.” The pieces are heard note-for-note in the marimba version with the exception of one note left out of a few chords in “Humoresque” due to the limitations of having only 4 “fingers.”